Senior laptops will need to be removed from our management system before you can keep them. You will need to do one very important step before running this process. Backup your laptop! Please read this entire post. If you do not perform the proper steps by June 3rd, then all data on your laptop will automatically be deleted.
What is going to happen?
When your laptop is removed from our system it will be formatted and reinstalled with macOS Mojave (10.14). All data on your laptop will be deleted. This includes your documents, photos, music and your folder of favorite memes. So if you didn’t backup, there is no way to restore this data.
What should I do?
After you backup your laptop, you will need to run a Self-Service policy that starts the removal process. The Self-Service policy will be made available to you by May 20th and can be found in the featured section. Please stop by the office if you need help with backing up. You can also checkout our previous post on how to back up your laptop. Oh, by the way, the backup drive is yours to keep.
What will happen if I don’t do this?
If you have not run the Self-Service policy by June 3rd, the laptop will delete all data and reinstall itself. Regardless if it has been backed up or not.
I completed the process for removing my laptop, now what?
The laptop is now in an out-of-box state. This means it is exactly as it was when it first shipped from the Apple warehouse. You can now step through the Setup Assistant like it is a brand new (4 year old) laptop. One of the steps in Setup Assistant will be named Migration Assistant. Plug in your USB backup drive and the Migration Assistant will help you restore your data to the laptop.
You should only be given the option to restore your own user account. If for some reason you have the Applications, Other Files and Folders, or Computer & Network Settings, Do Not Select them. If you choose anything other than your user account this will just restore management settings back on to the laptop. We will eventually see this and your laptop will automatically be reinstalled again.
What if I need help?
We are here to help. Click the Enter Portal link, create a support ticket and we will respond ASAP.
Good luck with all your future endeavors!